We Get Up Because We Can

By John Rezell, Executive Editor, SportsEvents Magazine

I didn’t have much of an athletic career in my youth, which is probably why I could appreciate all athletes as a sports writer.

In fact, I consider the highlight of my high school athletic career to be something most people would consider the low point — one of those memories you try to forget rather than remember.

But I’ll always remember.

It came at a cross country invitational on a brisk Wisconsin autumn morning. As a group of 70 or more of us charged down a hill, I felt the sharp pain of a runner’s spike dig into my knee.

I stumbled for a moment and felt the wind of a hoard of runners blow by me. I regained my stride for a short while, but my knee wasn’t cooperating. It wasn’t really pain that held me back. My knee just didn’t have the strength to run full speed.

I looked down and saw a trickle of blood. Nothing serious. I thought about stopping, but heck, I was already deep into the woods in the park and the only known route to the finish was the course. So I continued.

Runners continued to pass me until, ultimately, there was no one left to do so. I continued on, kind of dragging my leg with me. By the time I got to the finish line only a few dedicated volunteers remained.

Dead last. But I finished.

Little did I know that it wasn’t just a piece of the story of my life, but everyone’s lives. Everyone has days like that. Everyone faces failures. What defines us is how we handle them.

U.S. Figure Skating just launched a website dedicated to that lesson. It’s called WeGetUp.com.

Few things are tougher to navigate than ice, especially when you decide to take it on wearing a thin blade. You fall. Everyone falls. But, you get up. We all get up.

Really, that’s the best lesson that athletics teaches us. Get up and try again. And again. And once more if necessary. Whatever it takes. We get up.

So if you’re having one of those days and you need some inspiration, check it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Get Up Because We Can

  1. Angela Wierzba says:

    As the mother of a figure skater, as well as a cross country runner, both your introduction and the video spoke to me. Thank you! Also, being a runner from Wisconsin Mr. Rezell,, you may or may not be familiar with the cross country dynasty that Coach Donn Behnke has created in the city of Stevens Point. He recently wrote a book about his 1985 SPASH team and their state win. It’s called “The Animal Keepers” and is an enjoyable read for anyone, whether they are a runner or not.

  2. Sharon says:

    At 56 after a life time of ice skating I had a freak accident during an inline skating workout 7 mile training and pulled all three hamstrings off of my hip bone. Surgery 2 weeks later with the hope of possibility of recovery in 12-36 months 80% recover. I told everyone that as a skater we learned to fall and pick ourselves up again. At 6 months recovery post op, age 57 I have returned to adult saber fencing and am back on the ice, doing Pilates 2-3x week and riding bike 7-18 miles a day. Get up and never give up! The ice taught us well! Thanks for this campaign

    • Sharon,

      I am sorry to hear about your accident, but I am glad that you did not let that stop you!

      Yes, this is a great campaign by U.S. Figure Skating!

      Best,
      Kayla Head
      Marketing & Communications Manager
      SportsEvents Media Group

Leave a Reply

